New Trustees and Committee Members Welcomed at Community Foundation

October 15, 2019

SPRINGFIELD – The Trustees of the Community Foundation of Massachusetts (CFWM) appointed two new trustees and two new committee members at its September 26, 2019 Trustees’ Meeting. The new Trustees are Mauricia Geissler (Hatfield) and Christina Royal (Holyoke). Joining the CFWM Distribution Committee is Leo Hwang (Montague). Joining the CFWM Philanthropic Services Committee is Kari Diamond Kayiatos (Longmeadow).

Mauricia Geissler (Hatfield/Hampshire County)
Mauricia Geissler is the Retired Chief Investment Officer from Amherst College. Mauricia joined Amherst College in 2003 after holding senior investment positions for Lucent Technologies, Putnam Investments and SEI Corporation. As Chief Investment Officer, she oversaw all aspects of the $2 billion Amherst College endowment until her retirement in 2019. Mauricia holds a B.A. in Finance, Investments and Banking, from the University of Wisconsin, and is involved in a number of community programs.

Christina Royal (Holyoke/Hampden County)
Christina Royal has been involved in education for over 20 years, in both academic (community college and private four-year institutions) and corporate environments. She currently serves as the President of Holyoke Community College. Previously, she was the Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs at Inver Hills Community College in Minnesota. Christina also served as the Associate Vice President of eLearning & Innovation at Cuyahoga Community College (Tri-C), where she had district-wide oversight over one of the largest distance learning programs in the State of Ohio. Having been a first-generation, low- income, bi-racial college student, Christina believes that students must see aspects of themselves represented in the college in order to form a connection to the institution. She is engaged in local, state, and national communities of interest, including participating on state- wide, regional and local boards. Christina is also the recipient of the 2012 United States Distance Learning Association International Award for Outstanding Leadership by an Individual.

Distribution Committee:

Leo Hwang (Montague/Franklin County)
Leo Hwang received his Ph.D. at the University of Massachusetts in Geosciences with a focus on the diverse community economies of artists and artisans in Franklin County, an M.F.A. from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, and his B.A. in English and Fine Arts from the University of the South. He has taught at the University of Massachusetts Amherst; Mount Holyoke College; Greenfield Community College; and Westfield State University. Leo is currently the Dean of Humanities at Greenfield Community College.

Philanthropic Services Committee:

Kari Diamond Kayiatos (Longmeadow/Hampden County)
Kari Diamond Kayiatos is a current CFWM volunteer. In addition to serving on the Annual Fund, Sponsorship, and Innovation Workgroups, Kari has also been a grant and scholarship reviewer. In 2012, Kari joined Astro Chemicals as a Partner, serving as a member of the seven- person ownership group overseeing the general management and prosperity of the company. She has served as a Purchasing Agent and more recently, a Sales Representative. Prior to joining Astro Chemicals, Kari worked at the Loomis Chaffee School in CT for 15 years, where she served in several roles, including Assistant Director of Admissions, Director of the Parent Annual Fund and Director of Reunion Giving. Kari received her B.A. from Hamilton College.